A Good Example of How Not Every Picture An Artist Draws is a Home Run

A Good Example of How Not Every Picture An Artist Draws is a Home Run

I don’t even know where to begin with this.  Anthony does amazing voices, and my favorite is the “creepy German scientist”, so a good month or so ago now he challenged me to draw how I pictured the creepy German scientist.  I had a ton of fun sketching it out & was super happy with the line art.  I couldn’t stop laughing while I was drawing it.  My interest is in full color illustrations so I need as much practice as I can get with painting, so I decided to fully render.  Somewhere along the way, that’s when it went to hell.  I think it’s because I wanted to keep a sort of “cartoonish” look, but that’s not really how I work so I had no idea what I was doing.  I don’t know, I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something is very very off.  Anthony says I’m suffering from “Artist’s Curse” and there’s nothing wrong with it, but I’m just so not happy with how it came out yet I can’t even say why.  I’ve taken several breaks from it hoping when I came back to it I could identify & fix what I didn’t like but it didn’t help.  So…I’m calling it here.  It’s time to just move on.  Maybe in time I can identify what it is I don’t like about it, and at least it will be a learning experience.

 

creepy german scientist

Leave a Reply

